Quex Park has been home to several different families over the centuries.It has been called 'Quex' since its ownership in the 1500s by the Quekes family, who prospered from the extensive wool industry in Kent. Major Powell-Cotton's ancestor, John Powell (1721-1783), bought the house and adjacent farm as an investment in 1777. His nephew, John Powell Powell (1769-1849) demolished the mansion, replacing it with an elegant Regency home.
No country house of merit would be complete without extensive gardens and grounds and Quex House is no exception. There are acres of beautiful, informal gardens available for visitors to explore, including lawns, herbaceous borders, a shrub border, exotic trees, ponds, statues, a woodland walk, monument, wildlife pond, children's maze, croquet lawn and a Walled Kitchen Garden.